Kenneth G. Bloomquist Prize

The Kenneth G. Bloomquist Prize was established by the Lansing Concert Band in 2011 to recognize and reward an outstanding high school musician in the mid-Michigan area. The award is named in honor of LCB Director Emeritus and former director of bands at Michigan State University, Ken Bloomquist. The $1,000 prize is awarded to the winner, who will also perform with the LCB as a featured soloist on our annual Young Artist''s Concert held in the spring (Saturday, April 29, 2017 this year).

Previous Bloomquist Prize Winners

2016 - Justin Best, clarinet
2015 - Martin Kocev, clarinet

2014 - Aden Berry, tuba
2013 - Lydia Roth, flute
2012 - Diedreanna Potter, harp
2011 - Jordan Lulloff, saxophone

Application information

The competition is open to Michigan high school musicians (grades 9–12) enrolled in school during the 2016-17 academic year. Performers of woodwind, brass, or percussion instruments may apply. Applicants must select a work for their instrument which has an available band or wind ensemble accompaniment and must submit an audio recording of their performance of that selection accompanied by piano, band, or orchestra.

Eligibility: We have limited the 2017 competition to students enrolled in the following counties: Allegan, Barry, Branch, Calhoun, Clinton, Eaton, Genesee, Gratiot, Hillsdale, Ingham, ionia, Isabella, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Kent, Lenawee, Livingston, Midland, Montcalm, Oakland, Saginaw, Shiawassee and Washtenaw.

Performance with the Lansing Concert Band will be April 29, 2017 at East Lansing High School. 

The application process for the 2017 Bloomquist Prize is now closed. 

msboa logo

The LCB is a member of the MSBOA


Arts Council Logos PrimaryColor 03 75x153

The LCB is a member of the